Steve Madden: Dillard’s Exclusive Interview

Q: Who is the typical Steve Madden woman?
A:
The typical Steve Madden girl is your everyday woman. She’s confident and cutting edge.

Q: Where do you draw most of your inspiration for your designs?
A: I draw my inspiration from everything I’m surrounded by, from people who walk the streets of the world to my love for music. Over the past 20 years I’ve found that many different things inspire me to continue creating.

Q: Who are your major influences?
A: I’m influenced by anyone who impacts art and commerce, like Warhol and The Beatles.

Q: What do you feel you bring to the industry?
A: The number one goal of our company is to make cool shoes and second to make money for our investors.

Q: What’s the ultimate message you want to get across through your shoes?
A: That you don’t have to spend a fortune to look great.

Q: Did you attend school for design or are you self-taught?
A: I’m self taught! I started out in the shoe business when I was 16 as a stock boy.

Q: What are some of your favorite shoes in the line?
A:  Conncord, Dejavu, Masqraid

Q: What are some key trends we will see from your line next season?
A: Lower heels.

Q: Tell us about a shoe you will never forget.
A: The SLINKY – it’s one of my first and biggest hits.

Q: Which shoe should no woman be without?
A: A comfortable flat and a classic black pump are musts. They’re like the little black dresses of the shoe world.

Shop our picks:
  Steve Madden Troopa Military-Inspired Booties, Steve Madden Conncord Smoking SlippersSteve Madden Intrude Pumps

Shop all Steve Madden.

Are you excited about lower heels? 

8 Comments

Filed under Shoes

8 responses to “Steve Madden: Dillard’s Exclusive Interview

1. I love Steve Madden designs, but would like to see some demi wedge flats in the line. The very flat flats make my back hurt. It doesn’t have to be much, but even .75″ to 1″ would be wonderful.